Jump to content

The Free Land of Nendrum

Recommended Posts

0n7P9U5.jpgThe Historical Nendrum settlement 

The Free Land of Nendrum

Nendrum is an island country in the North Antutian Ocean. It consists of two main landmasses—the North Island (Nen) and the South Island (Drum)—and around 600 smaller islands, covering a total area of 234,026 square kilometres. Nendrum is approximately 2,000 kilometres (1,200 mi) east of its nearest country across the Nendar Sea and 1,000 kilometres (600 mi) south of the islands of New Caledonia, Fels, and Tuva. The country's varied topography and sharp mountain peaks, including the Southern Alps, owe much to tectonic uplift and volcanic eruptions. Nendrum's capital city is The City of Nendrum, and its most populous city is Strangford.

The narrowest part of the water straight that separates both islands was initially settled in the 17th century by European Explorers and today is a separate jurisdiction referred to as The City of Nendrum and is run by a corporation. This corporation was initially formed to facilitate a small trading post, which over time began to expand. The territory began its transition into nationhood in 1868 as pioneers and leaders from native settlements united and agreed to form a new nation with traders from the corporation. The Free Land of Nendrum was officially declared the next year in 1869, named after the uniting of both Nen and Drum Islands. The Free Land is divided into seven administrative counties. 

Capital: The City of Nendrum
Largest: Strangford
Official languages: English
Recognised national languages: Dutch, Gaelic
Demonym(s): Nendruman

Nendrum is divided into 18 Parliamentary constituencies: 4 borough constituencies in The City of Nendrum and 14 county constituencies elsewhere. Parliamentary constituencies are not used for local government, which is instead carried out by 11 district councils; these often have different boundaries. Each constituency returns one Member of Parliament (MP) to serve in the House of Mochaoi.

Government: Liberal Democracy 
(bi-cameral, Lower House = Mochaoi, Upper House = Caolán) 
- Prime Minister of the Free Land: Mith Randir
- First Representative of Nen: Naoir Freeland
- First Representative of Drum: Katin Spence
- Mayor of the City of Nendrum Corporation: John Debonvadil

- Colonisation: 1802
- Formation of Statehood: 1868

- 2020 census: estimate 6,000,000
- 2016 census: estimate 5,500,000

Currency: Nendin (NDI)
Date format: dd.mm.yyyy
Driving side: left
Calling code: +78
Internet TLD: .ndn

The Executive Office of Nendrum

Edited by Mith (see edit history)
Link to comment
  • Create New...