Jump to content

The Kingdom of Nectarous

Recommended Posts

The Kingdom of Nectarous in the region of Europa is a forward-thinking peaceful country. The national capital is Nestar. Nectarous became a constitutional monarchy in 1789 after having been an absolutist state since 1323 and has been a parliamentary representative democracy since 1901.




Coat of arms

Capital Nestar
Largest city Nestar
Suffrage Universal suffrage
Official Language(s) English


  • Monarch
  • Prime Minister

Constitutional Monarchy

Rebecca II

Darrell Burton


  • Total
  • % water


898,290 km²


Euro (€)

National Symbols

  • Sport
  • Animal
  • Flower



UN Status

Inoffensive Centrist



The earliest record of human activity in Nectarous dates back to over 50,000 years ago. Stone Age hunter-gatherers eventually gave way to farmers and permanent settlements, with advanced megalithic cultures arising in western Nectarous some 4,000 years ago, even at this early date, Nectarous was part of a large trading network, gradually recognisable states formed and began to merge with one another.

Around 1281 one king, had effective control of all or most of Nectarous; although it is impossible to identify the precise moment when the Kingdom of Nectarous was unified. The title "King of Nectarous" was first adopted in 1323.

During the 1700's an increasing number of the population were becoming unhappy with the monarchy due to the high taxes and poverty that was sweeping the nation, failure of reforms and suppression of the growing liberal ideology were continuing problems and the deterioration of the economy led to widespread rioting in the major cities of the Nectarous.

The Nectarous constitution was signed on 10 March 1789, transformed Nectarous from being an absolute monarchy into a constitutional monarchy. The 1814 constitution granted rights such as freedom of speech and rule of law.


Politics in Nectarous takes place in the framework of a parliamentary representative democracy, in which the Prime Minister of Nectarous is the head of government. It is pluriform. Executive and Legislative power is exercised by the government. The Judiciary is independent of the executive and the legislature.

The functions of the Queen, Rebecca II, are mainly ceremonial, but she has influence as the symbol of national unity. Although the constitution of 1789 grants important executive powers to the Queen, these are almost always exercised by the Council of State in the name of the Queen (Queen’s Council, or cabinet). The reserve powers vested in the Monarch by the constitution are significant and an important security part of the role of the Monarchy. The Council of State consists of a Prime Minister and his council, formally appointed by the Queen. Parliamentarism has evolved since 1884 and entails that the cabinet must not have the parliament against it, and that the appointment by the Queen is a formality.

While the monarch is head of state and theoretically holds all executive power, it is the prime minister who is head of government. The government is answerable chiefly to Parliament; however, ministers do not have to come from Parliament, though it is the modern day custom. Parliament consists of 288 members elected by a proportional majority. Parliamentary elections are held at least every four years, but it is within the powers of the prime minister to call one sooner. On a vote of no confidence, the parliament may force the entire government to resign. Since March 2000, the Nectarous Prime Minister has been Darrell Burton from the Social Democrats


Nectarous is divided into eight administrative regions, called provinces, each under a Governor. List of provinces

  • Darrical; capital and largest city (of the province and the country) Nestar
  • Rebek; capital and largest city Port Charlotte
  • Annen; capital Helena, largest city Juana
  • Anthon; capital and largest city Yansk
  • Barres; capital Jasson, largest city Ze Doca
  • Jacare; capital Corera, largest city Scotton
  • Mason; capital and largest city Rufas
  • Burtyn; capital Rheine, largest city Shanha


Most of Nectarous consists of rolling lowland terrain, divided east from west by more mountainous terrain in the Northwest and north.

The main rivers are the Blue, the Findhorn and the Laggan


The official language of Nectarous is English. Recent immigrants speak many other languages, including Portuguese, Russian and German


The City of Nestar is the largest financial centre in Nectarous The economy focuses on the principles of liberalisation, the free market, and low taxation and regulation. The service sector of Nectarous is dominated by Book publishing, Information technology and basket weaving. Tourism is very important to the Nectarous economy. The currency is the Euro. The Bank of Nectarous is the central bank.


The most popular sport in Nectarous is association football, usually referred to as just "football". The Rebek Championships is an international tennis event held in Nestar every summer. Nectarous has a rich sailing heritage and this is very popular Thoroughbred racing is also popular in Nectarous. Golf is a popular participation sport played in Nectarous. The country is closely associated with motorsport.


The current of the Nectarous is classified as temperate, with warm summers, cool winters and plentiful precipitation throughout the year. The weather can be notoriously changeable from one day to the next but temperature variations throughout the year are small.

Nectarous is at the boundary of convergence between warm tropical air to the south and the cold polar air to the north. In this area, the large temperature variation creates instability and this a major factor that influences the notoriously changeable and often unsettled weather, where many or all types of weather can be experienced in a single day.

Individual human rights

Freedom of expression is enshrined in paragraph 100. Freedom of religion is enshrined in paragraph 2 of the Constitution of Nectarous, which also establishes the state religion as "Hindu". The press is not censored, but most editors adhere to self-imposed commandments of caution. Public radio and TV broadcast mostly without interference from the government, although permission to broadcast depends on the programming spectrum. Broadcast advertising is regulated, with particular restrictions on paid political messages and advertising directed at children.

The constitution forbids retroactive laws, punishment not based on laws and court decisions, and the use of torture.

Nectarous has mandatory military service of 6-12 months for men between the ages of 18 (17 with parental consent). Conscientious objectors serve 12 months in an alternative civilian national service. If a candidate refuses to attend the assessment of fitness, where any objections to future military service are to be brought up, they are liable to prosecution. A person who is deemed fit for service and who is not a conscientious objector, but still refuses military service is also liable to prosecution. Changes to the structure of the armed forces have resulted in a lower demand for conscripts, and hence the number of males actually having to serve is decreasing.

Link to comment
  • Create New...